Que há coisas que nunca mudam, isso já nós sabemos, ou pelo menos acreditamos. E, mesmo tendo esse conhecimento de antemão, somos sempre surpreendidos quando confirmamos o facto mais uma vez. Mas o que é que nunca muda? Nós mudamos, mas mudamos o suficiente para valer a pena sequer assinalarmos isso? Ou mudamos tanto que é impossível dizermos de uma forma coerente que tudo o que fizemos na vida tem a nossa assinatura “all over it”? Seja como for, eu fico sempre talvez um pouco desiludida quando me apercebo de que algumas coisas não mudam e que eu, inclusive, continuo a agarrar-me ao que é seguro e não faz parte de mim, mas que acaba por se apoderar do que sou.

Pronto, pondo de parte a indirecta, quero partilhar duas músicas que andam na minha cabeça e na minha playlist. A primeira é dos Mumford & Sons, uma banda londrina formada em 2007, portanto, bastante recente. É do album Sigh No More, lançado mesmo o ano passado no Reino Unido e em Fevereiro deste ano nos Estados Unidos. Sim, eu ando a apurar os meus factos na Wikipedia. Esta música chamou-me muito a atenção. Não é propriamente “catchy”, mas anda na minha cabeça. Gosto muito da letra e da maneira como é cantada. A segunda é já muito batida, por assim dizer. Chama-se “We need love”, é dos Hard-Fi, também ingleses e também uma banda pertencente à “cena” indie. Existem desde 2003 e esta música, descobri agora, não foi single do album a que pertence, Once Upon a Time in the West, o que me surpreende, porque me ficou mesmo na cabeça, desta feita por ser mesmo “catchy”, dentro do que o indie permite. Aqui ficam elas!

Letra
It’s empty in the valley of your heart
The sun, it rises slowly as you walk
Away from all the fears
And all the faults you’ve left behind

The harvest left no food for you to eat
You cannibal, you meat-eater, you see
But I have seen the same
I know the shame in your defeat

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

Cause I have other things to fill my time
You take what is yours and I’ll take mine
Now let me at the truth
Which will refresh my broken mind

So tie me to a post and block my ears
I can see widows and orphans through my tears
I know my call despite my faults
And despite my growing fears

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

So come out of your cave walking on your hands
And see the world hanging upside down
You can understand dependence
When you know the maker’s hand

So make your siren’s call
And sing all you want
I will not hear what you have to say

Cause I need freedom now
And I need to know how
To live my life as it’s meant to be

And I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

And I’ll find strength in pain
And I will change my ways
I’ll know my name as it’s called again

 

Letra:
In Birmingham, in London – what we need now is love.
Not hate and fear, blood and tears – what we need now is love.

Walking down my street tonight, west London style…
There’s something in the air tonight, I haven’t felt for a while,
I see the fear, I see the fear in your eyes,
When they keep you afraid you believe all their lies.

In the county towns, in football grounds – what we need now is love.
Not suspicion, division – what we need now is love.
In Washington, New York City – what we need now is love.
Not hate and fear, blood and tears – what we need now is love.

Walking down my street today, west London style…
There’s something going on today, Everyone’s acting wild,
I see the fear, I see the fear in your eyes,
When they keep you afraid you believe all their lies.

In Liverpool, in Glasgow – what we need now is love.
Not suspicion, division
– what we need now is love.
In Washington, New York City – what we need now is love.
Not hate and fear, blood and tears
– what we need now is love.

When the sun goes down, on the mill towns – what we need now is love.
Not suspicion, division – what we need now is love.
In Washington, New York City – what we need now is love.
San Salvador, me amor – what we need now is love.

Deixe uma Resposta

